(Press release; November 1,  2014)


A meeting of six left parties – Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India, Revolutionary Socialist Party, All India Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)-Liberation and Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) was held today at New Delhi. They have issued the following statement:


With the advent of the Modi government in power there is a concerted rightwing offensive fueled by the corporate-Hindutva forces. there is a growing onslaught on the people through the imposition of neo-liberal policies which is going to adversely impact the livelihood of the people. There is no respite for the people from price rise, unemployment and corruption.


The Hindutva forces are resorting to aggressive communal activities. The Modi government’s patronage of the RSS and its outfits is aimed at communalising the educational, social and cultural institutions. There is a rise in communal tensions in different parts of the country.


The left parties decided to conduct a week long protest campaign between

December 8 to 14, 2014 on the following issues:


The Meeting was attended by:

Debabrata Biswas (All India Forward Block)

Kshiti Goswami & Manoj Bhattacharya  (Revolutionary Socialist Party)

Swapan Mukherjee & Kavita Krishnan (Communist Party of India [Ml]-Liberation)

Manik Mukherjee & Ranjit Dhar  (Socialist Unity Centre of India (communist)

A.B. Bardhan & D Raja (Communist Party of India)

Prakash Karat & S. Ramachandran Pillai (Communistist Party of India-Marxist)

Top - Home