United Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) leader and former prime minister Baburam Bhattarai has been elected as the head of the Constituent Assembly’s Committee for Constitutional, Political Dialogue and Consensus Building (CCPDC) on Friday.


Bhattarai was elected unopposed as chairperson of CCPDC after Khumbuwan Rastriya Morcha lawmaker Ram Kumar Rai withdrew his candidacy to the post on Friday.


Along with Bhattarai, four other heads of Constitutional Assembly (CA) Committee were elected unopposed during Friday’s election at the Legislature Parliament.


Nepali Congress leader Krishna Sitaula was elected chairperson of the Constitutional Drafting Committee while CPN-UML leader Bishnu Poudel was elected unopposed as the head of the Committee to Study and Determine Constitutional Records.


Similarly, Madhesi Janadhikar Forum (Nepal) lawmaker Laxmi Chaudhary was elected unopposed as the head of Committee on Capacity Building and Resource Management while CPN-United lawmaker Pramila Rana was picked as the chairperson of the Committee on Citizen Relations and Public Opinion Collection.


Speaking to media-persons after being elected unopposed to the power CA committee, Dr Bhattarai said he will try his best to promulgate the much awaited new constitution within January 22, 2015.


“This is an important CA committee. I will try to move ahead by forging consensus with all the political parties and stakeholders that are both inside the Constituent Assembly and outside.”


The first meeting of the Political Dialogue Committee has been called for April 28.


(From Nepal News April 25, 2014; Supplied by Sukla Sen)

Top - Home