Daya Varma


The Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)-Liberation held its 9th party Congress at Ranchi from April 2-6, 2013.


The Congress was attended by leaders of various left parties as well as foreign guests from Bangladesh, Nepal and Australia and the inaugural session was addressed by Dipankar Bhattacharya, General Secretary of CPI (ML)-Liberation as well as by the Communist Party of India (CPI) General Secretary Sudhakar Reddy.  CPI (Marxist) Central Committee member  JS Majumdar read out a message from his Party’s  General Secretary Prakash Karat. The Congress was also addressed by RB Rai (former Lok Sabha MP), Forward Bloc General Secretary Debabrata Biswas, CPM (Punjab) General Secretary Mangat Ram Pasla, RSP leader Manoj Bhattacharya, Vijay Kulkarni, leader of Lal Nishan Party (Leninist), and Haladhar Mahto from Marxist Coordination Committee. Veteran RSP leader Abani Roy was also present at the inaugural session.


Solidarity messages were received from the Ambassador of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, the Unified Communist Party of Nepal Maoist (UCPNM), New Democratic Party of Sri Lanka, the Communist Party of France (PCF), National Democratic Front of the Philippines (NDFP), Revolutionary Organization of Labor, USA, and Socialist Alternative, Australia.


It might be the first time that the three major Communist Parties of India, CPI, CPI(Marxist) and CPI (Marxist-Leninist) were present at the same Congress.


(based on a CPI-ML dispatch)

Top - Home